“Wash the plate not because it’s dirty, nor because you’re told to wash it, but because you love the person who will use it next.”

This quote attributed to Blessed (very soon-to-be Saint!) Mother Teresa very much embodies how I feel called to live out my vocation as a catholic wife and mother. Much of motherhood involves what seem to be mundane, thankless tasks. Fold the laundry, do the dishes, make dinner, clean the house, feed the baby, entertain the baby, repeat, repeat, repeat.

I have never taken for granted how blessed I am to spend every moment with my son, and I am eternally grateful to my husband for working so hard for us and providing in such a way that I am able to do so, I would not change a thing. However, I am also someone who thrives on outward signs of appreciation as motivation, and it was an adjustment for me to find peace in the behind-the-scenes service required of us in our vocation as mothers. There is never so much of a shift away from ourselves and onto others as when we become mothers, as the moment you feel your child growing within you and know that God has called you and found you worthy to bring new life into the world.

There is no question that I love my husband and son more than I could ever express, that they are my greatest gifts, but the selflessness of motherhood is something I am still working to fully embrace. I have asked God to help me live out His chosen vocation for me as best as I possibly can, from a place of only love and not expectations. I know I can’t do it alone and I will never do so perfectly, but with His grace I am striving to be the wife, mother, and Catholic He created me to be. So, I’m learning to love the dirty dishes, because I love the people who use them. (Loving the laundry though, I might need a little more (Ok, a lot more) of His grace for that one… :))

One thought on “Wash the Plate

Leave a Reply

